Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve @ Kranji, Singapore

Hi tourists,

Feeling an urge to bond with nature today, I traveled to the northern part of Singapore to visit a swamp, Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve.

In Malay, Sungei means River and Buloh means Bamboo. Sungei Buloh hence carries the meaning of Bamboo River. I embarked on a mission of looking for the tallest bamboo tree in the area, but strangely enough, there were none to be found.

Later, I found out that there are indeed no bamboos growing in Sungei Buloh. Nobody is sure how the swamp got its name.

Although I didn’t find any bamboo trees, I saw many species of mangrove trees. It had just rained, and the tide was high at the time of my visit, so the mangrove trees were partially submerged in water.

Nearer the shore, the roots of the mangrove trees are visible. They grow upwards and stick out of the soil because the clammy soil is not able to provide the trees with enough oxygen to survive.

I enjoyed a peaceful day by myself, taking a long stroll on the boardwalk at Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve. I’m sure you’ll love this place too.

KusuLife,
Your Singapore Guide

Leave a Reply

